Oga Kazuo…

Maybe because of all the green colored backgrounds in the trailer for Makoto Shinkai’s new film, it reminded me a lot of the background designs that Oga Kazuo does. That’s probably why the trailer feels very Hayao Miyazaki-ish…
Oga Kazuo is the art director and background artist to many Ghibli films such as Princess Mononoke and My Neighbor Totoro.

but, Makoto Shinkai probably still does the best skies…

from The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Artbook)

from The Art of My Neighbor Totoro (Artbook)

from Oga Kazuo- The One Who Painted Totoro's Forest DVD

from Oga Kazuo- The One Who Painted Totoro's Forest DVD

from Oga Kazuo- The One Who Painted Totoro's Forest DVD

from Oga Kazuo- The One Who Painted Totoro's Forest DVD

from Oga Kazuo- The One Who Painted Totoro's Forest DVD

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

This entry was posted in pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oga Kazuo…

  1. Yi says:

    I love the rustic scenery. The vast green plains, blue skies, open space… The artworks are beautiful!

    • Jo says:

      It’s nice isn’t it? What amazes me is that they’re all hand-drawn.
      I love how these images capture the idyllic atmosphere of worlds or places that you’d wish really existed.

  2. O_O Jo I’m noticing you everywhere on the yuri-sphere now. I’m not stalking you btw. 😛 I just came to check out your blog!

    The skies are stunning in those photos! I NEED to get that book! The sky always calms and cheers me up, except the stormy crazy ones of course.

    Aria has amazing skies as well.

  3. airi says:

    Oga Kazuo is brilliant. Thank you for sharing this pieces :3

  4. Crash says:

    Makoto’s work is on digital media (photoshop).
    Marvelous yet.

Leave a Reply

