Japanese woodblock prints…

I don’t know much about art, but I do know what I like.

When I was in the States, I managed to go to a few art galleries/museums. It was great, however I didn’t really have enough time to see everything. It was nice to see so much art nevertheless. BUT..one thing I didn’t really get to see much of was the Japanese woodblock prints. At the Metropolitan Museum of Art New York, they had a Japanese collection, but not much of the woodblock prints were in display. Apparently they come out every few years. So I ended up buying a couple of books on Japanese woodblock prints (its cheaper to get books in the States, despite how heavy they are…)

I became a fan of Japanese woodblock prints after seeing it once alongside a Monet exhibition. It was said that Monet was inspired by and collected many of these Japanese woodblock prints.

Two of the most famous woodblock print artists would be Katsushika Hokusai and Utagawa Hiroshige. I love the rich colors they use and how they depict the natural landscapes. Everything about it is just nice…

=)

Travellers Crossing the Oi River - Hokusai

The Great Wave off Kanagawa - Hokusai

Mount Fuji in Clear Weather aka. Red Fuji - Hokusai

The Sea off Satta - Hiroshige

Night Snow at Kambara - Hiroshige

Great Bridge, Sudden Shower at Atake - Hiroshige

This entry was posted in pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

