Makoto Shinkai…

Yesterday I was reminded that I should watch the film The Place Promised in Our Early Days by Makoto Shinkai. I’m in the middle of downloading it, but before I did that I downloaded a copy of the soundtrack. The version I downloaded came with a zip. file which contained background images used in the films. I guess I’m lucky, since I love this kinda stuff. I’ve mentioned before in another post that I really like the skies that Makoto Shinkai does (actually scratch that, I like all his background images; they’re all beautiful). Since all these images are backgrounds and scenes, there aren’t any characters in them. Maybe its the subdued colors and lack of people, for some reason I really like how it evokes feelings of loneliness and melancholy. A certain quietness.

So yeah, if you haven’t already, go watch the films.
Actually here is a five minute short film done by him, one of his first works She and Her Cat.

Just so I don’t kill the home page with too many images, here is a couple of the pictures as a teaser…
I’ve also included a few more pictures from the Reminiscence of the sky: Sora no Kioku Artbook.


from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

from Reminiscence of the sky - Sora no Kioku Artbook

[All credits goes to original uploaders..]

[edit: here are a couple of links to the images I’ve got up there…
First link is the background images.
Second link is the The sky of the longing for memories Artbook aka. Reminiscence of the sky – Sora no Kioku Artbook]

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EJTSH231
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=BT86GXRB

This entry was posted in pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Makoto Shinkai…

  1. SilentSerenata says:

    HOLYYY . Just look at the graphics .

    • Jo says:

      Heh yeah…I like my graphics…
      =)

    • Hana says:

      Wow – agreed! If 5C/S hadn’t depressed the hell out of me, I’d have sought out more of his work soon after. Really enjoyed that though, so maybe it’s time to watch this one and the others… Thanks for the read and the reminder to do so! 🙂

      • Jo says:

        Yeah 5cm was a depressing film…after watching it I was like ‘….What just happened??! That can’t be it..’
        Nevertheless, it was a beautifully made film and a joy to watch.
        and Thanks for reading…

        =)

  2. Yi says:

    The illustrations are sooo stunningly gorgeous. I love that gravestone one especially. I think I’m going to buy a copy now.

    • Jo says:

      My favorite would probably be the second one of the train-station in the rural country-side. It’s just seems like a place that not only looks beautiful in animated form, but you know that there is a possibility that it exists in reality and could be just as beautiful. Its just nice to think that such places could still exist..

      =)

  3. SilentSerenata says:

    D: tell me it’s a lie when you say you won’t be visitng the site for a while cuz of ur sis .
    I WONT ACCEPT THIS RAWRRRRR . The cookies are rotting without you

Leave a Reply

