Edgar Degas: Waiting…

This was a drawing I saw at the Getty Museum when I was in Los Angeles. I don’t know, but I found it very captivating. Not knowing what they’re waiting for…
The first photo is from my phone. My camera had ran out of memory/space that day and I didn’t have any spare. The second picture is taken from the Getty Museum website, as well as the text below. I think the photo from my phone gives a truer depiction of what the colors were like. The Getty version is a bit on the brighter side.

A young ballet dancer bends forward to massage her foot, while her somberly dressed older companion sits silently beside her on a bench. They appear to be waiting, perhaps for an audition or its outcome. The two figures are a study in contrasts: The athletic dancer dressed in a dazzling costume reflects the glamour and artifice of the stage, while the shabbily dressed, bent figure represents the drabness of everyday life.

This entry was posted in photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

